Coconut Creme Pie

IMGP0714

(I have the worst natural lighting in my house – it is either too bright or too gray!)

This delicious pie was from a family friend. I make it a little more “coconutty” by using coconut milk. I have also used coconut cream but then I do not add any additional sugar because it is sweet all on its own!

IMGP0698

(My toddler kept sneaking pieces of the crust…it was yummy – when I do not make my own I use my secret – Trader Joe’s pie crust)

Coconut Crème Pie

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Difficulty: moderately easy
  • Print

Gather:

1 prebaked pie crust
2 cups milk, separated-keep 1 cup cold. (I like to use coconut milk if I have it on hand, or half coconut milk and half regular milk)
1/2 cup to 1 cup sugar (depend on how much sweetness you like)
1/4 cup cornstarch (or flour)
3 eggs (separate and use egg yolks only – save egg whites for meringue or breakfast!)
1 cup sweetened coconut flakes
1/4 stick butter
1 tsp vanilla
additional coconut to toast for top of pie

Bring 1 cup of milk to a near boil in medium saucepan. In another bowl, mix sugar and cornstarch.
Add the egg yolks.
Add the other cup of cold milk and mix.
Add this mixture to the hot milk on the stove.
Add butter and continue cooking stirring until thick. Once it starts to bubble well, remove it from the heat.
Add the vanilla and mix in the shredded coconut flakes.
Pour into a pie shell and let it sit to cool and set. It may be refrigerated, unless you will eat it soon.

Top with a meringue or a homemade whipped cream.

Have a thought? Happy to hear from you...

